blog

The Latest & Greatest from the DBC!

January 2018 Selections

Jan 2018.png

changes to the DBC in 2018

In January, we’re changing the structure of the DBC by reducing our number of picks each month from three to two. In 2018, you can expect to see one selection for adult fiction or non-fiction, and one selection for either middle grade OR young adult. When we asked for your feedback, the biggest suggestion members had was to announce monthly selections earlier. This change will help us to mitigate the chaos that is our selection process so that we can bring you quality titles, with selection announcements earlier in the month. 

In January, you’ll have TWO books to choose from, plus a selection of picture books..

Reminder: you do not need to read both selections! Read the book that best fits your interest this month, and participate in the discussion  as much as you’d like.

Note: This post contains affiliate links. When you choose to purchase a book through an affiliate link, the DBC is granted a small commission at no additional cost to you. These commissions help to offset the cost of operations. Thank you!


This month, we’ll read books about experiences related to adoption and fostering. We believe that love makes a family, and this month we want to celebrate that!

As children's lit moderator Lori put it, "Knitting together a forever family is serious business for all three parties in the 'adoption triad': the adoptee, the birth family, and the adoptive parents. There is no 'right' way to adopt or foster, but unfortunately, there are plenty of wrong ones. Literature gives us an abundance of examples of adoption gone wrong, particularly for the adoptee.”

We were very particular in our selections this month, and while it’s hard to find a perfect book to relay the adoption/fostering experience, we can’t wait to discuss these titles with you!


adult fiction selection:

Secret Daughter by Shilpi Somaya Gowda

41UZRDWMl2L._SX329_BO1,204,203,200_.jpg

From the publisher:

Somer's life is everything she imagined it would be — she's newly married and has started her career as a physician in San Francisco — until she makes the devastating discovery she never will be able to have children.

The same year in India, a poor mother makes the heartbreaking choice to save her newborn daughter's life by giving her away. It is a decision that will haunt Kavita for the rest of her life, and cause a ripple effect that travels across the world and back again.

Asha, adopted out of a Mumbai orphanage, is the child that binds the destinies of these two women. We follow both families, invisibly connected until Asha's journey of self-discovery leads her back to India.

Compulsively readable and deeply touching, SECRET DAUGHTER is a story of the unforeseen ways in which our choices and families affect our lives, and the indelible power of love in all its many forms. 


middle grade fiction selection:

Forever or a long, long time by caela carter

From the publisher:

From rising new talent Caela Carter, author of My Life with the Liars, comes an achingly beautiful and endearing story about two foster children who want desperately to believe that they’ve found their forever home. Perfect for fans of Rebecca Stead’s When You Reach Me, Leslie Connor’s All Rise for the Honorable Perry T. Cook, and Sarah Pennypacker’s Pax.

Flora and her brother, Julian, don’t believe they were born. They’ve lived in so many foster homes, they can’t remember where they came from. And even now that they’ve been adopted, Flora still struggles to believe in forever. So along with their new mother, Flora and Julian begin a journey to go back and discover their past—for only then can they really begin to build their future.